It’s clearly the media stupid.

I am all about seeing Milk, but the idea that this will somehow connect Anita Bryant to Sarah Palin in any way mind boggles me.

“I had a few friends call me up and say, ‘Wow, it’s so amazing to see Palin running as vice president because she’s beautiful, an ex-beauty queen, a mother, well-spoken and there something about her that is so reminiscent of Anita Bryant exactly 30 years ago,'” he says. “I think some people will pick up on that.”

Sarah Palin has most definitely not made anti-GLBT rights her main focus in her administration, even though in a questionnaire when she was running for Governor she placed “traditional” marriage as her 2nd highest priority.  Her main focus has been on energy and the economy.  She may have some questionable religious beliefs (her church holds “ex-gay” events–or so the left wing claims), but she isn’t going out of her way to hurt the GLBT community.  In fact, I found this comment written by a blogger on a GLBT online publication:

Chris In Alaska says:

I am a gay Alaskan who knows Sarah Palin personally. I can attest that she is pragmatic in her public administration and isn’t as black and white as she is being portrayed. I support her.

Sarah has been criticized by the left because she “didn’t really support GLBT rights” when she vetoed a bill that would have banned domestic partner benefits because it was unconstitutional.  After vetoing the bill, she put it up to a vote for Alaska.  Alaska of course voted to ban domestic partner benefits, although the legislature decided not to go any further with it.  What if the vote had gone the other way?  I believe that the biggest clue is how she reacted when it appeared that Ted Stevens had won the re-election–“I’m not a dictator.  The people of Alaska have spoken.”

In summary, while Sarah Palin is not a proponent of GLBT rights, to compare her to someone like Anita Bryant is TOTALLY uncalled for.

